Thrifting for Gold

Posted on Updated on

I’ve always known I could reuse yarn from a garment at the Goodwill by unraveling and reconditioning the yarn but I haven’t tried it… Until now!

I found this hat… Slouch.. Beret.. Thing. It’s pinky and greeny and waaaay too big for any human I’ve ever met. Looked like this:

20130328-223606.jpg

I undid the bind off at the top and began the adventure of unraveling.

20130328-223728.jpg

I wound it onto my niddy noddy, soaked it, hung it to dry and ended up with about 150 yards of dk weight, seemingly hand dyed, super soft yarn! Now I just have to decide what to use it for…

20130328-223933.jpg

Leave a Reply

