Now I can do anything!

Posted on Updated on

Hey there friends! A goal of mine for this year (and beyond) is to become an officially published knit/crochet designer. I’ve decided to fill my calendar with as many magazine and collection deadlines I can find and stick to as many of them as I can. It’s only March but I’ve already met my goal! I’ll tell you that I have a mystery pattern in a mystery publication that will be available for purchase later this year. When I get my legal contract in the mail, I’ll update you with as many details as I’m allowed… I want to announce everything now but I don’t want to get in trouble 😉

To distract you from the exciting information I am actively withholding, Oh! Look over there! It’s a great book that just came in for me!

knit knit knit
My favorite new design tool

This book is brand new to me and to the world, just published! Where have you been all my life? Oh yeah, being written. Ok, ok, ok… Down to business. This book is amazing and I’m so excited to put it to use that I’m having trouble forming sentences. It is what it advertises: methods to adapt and draft original knitting pattern with a singular focus on sweaters. There is a complete chapter dedicated to each major design element of a sweater and you basically just flip to what is relevant to your design and get going. If you have a picture of what you want to make in your head but just need help figuring out the technical aspects of the pattern then this is the book for you. Math and equation heavy, it really gets to the knitty gritty of the nerdy part of pattern design. I love it!!! I know it will help me in my goals of pattern design.

Leave a Reply

