Been a while…

Posted on Updated on

Ok, here for you all to read is my obligatory “long time, no see” post before I really start getting back into this thing. It’s already March but that’s alright, I’m starting a new year! Tons of things are new this year so far and it ain’t no joke! For you, a list:

  • New house (Alpaca Ranch!)
  • New car (Saab Waagon)
  • New (sort of) job
  • New Boyfriend (YEAH!!!)
  • Only two cats (down from four, lost two in the break up)

I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am about all of these changes, it’s almost overwhelming when I think about it all at once. Allow me to elaborate on the most relevant of points. My new house is a little itty bitty studio on a very large property that just so happens to be my local alpaca (sprinkled with llama and guanaco) ranch. It’s completely gorgeous on it’s own but it certainly doesn’t hurt seeing a few of my favorite camelid at every turn. This little treasure is about 15 minutes from town in any direction with is pretty cool and also not at times (like when I just need yogurt for my grapenuts) which brings me to my next piece of change: the car! I sold poor Betsy the Volvo and traded up (don’t tell her) to a Saab Wagon named Helga. She’s Scandinavian and she’s a beauty AND a beast, she hauls it up my 6 mile hill. She’s a delight and might I suggest to any of you who have not yet learned to drive a manual vehicle, get ye to a practice lot! Totally awesome and worth it.

Alpaca trio
These boys live across the driveway from my little cottage

Ok, we’re skipping the job thing cause I’m not sure about that one yet… I’ll keep you updated, don’t worry. Now for the cats, I’ve got boogers-for-brains Skadi and my baby girl Freyja. They were my favorite and I’m happy with the split (I got the cuter ones). Frey wants to go outside so I’ll have to work up the courage to trust she won’t get eaten by a mountain lion when I do let her outside. She’s a real panther herself so I really should just let her outside… Skadi on the other hand, will be staying with me for her entire life. She’s a little barnacle and I’m her whale. She won’t be moving out, going to college, having grown up experiences in the outside world; she just can’t handle the pressure. She’s a darling creature who needs special attention and I’m willing to give it to her.

Kittehs
Ultimate Photo Bomb: Skadi on my shoulder and Freyja front and center.

New Boyfriend!! He is seriously so awesome, I can’t even handle it. He’s a smarty pants dreamboat with a great sense of humor and a cute butt. What more can a girl ask for? He’s also, coincidentally, a hat model. He’s mine but feel free to oogle at those dreamy handmade hats on his head, I’ll be updating with a pattern for the hat on the top left, it has really awesome decreases.

Hats for heads
Garrett, my dreamy hat model

More to come, I’m really actually going to blog this year! So many crafts n things to talk about!

Leave a Reply

